GRAPIN FPGA

CLOUD 

THE FUTURE OF HIGH PERFORMANCE COMPUTING - TODAY!

Revolutionary FPGA technology, available through the GRAPIN FPGA Cloud

BACKGROUND

Today's high performance computers or FPGA solutions are not scalable enough for general cloud users who want to accelerate their own work processes. By accelerating the existing FPGA technology, increasing scalability and efficiency, we aim to make High Performance Computing accessible to a wider audience. 

With the GRAPIN FPGA Cloud we facilitate the availability of our revolutionary high performance computing solution by offering our advanced FPGA as a service (FPGAaaS). Our unique FPGAaaS solution sets new standards in terms of performance, efficiency and scalability and will revolutionize the high performance computing market!

GRAPIN FPGA CLOUD

ACCELERATING YOUR WORKLOADS IN THE CLOUD!

GRAPIN FPGA CLOUD

Your smart and reliable FPGA cloud solution in Switzerland!

intuitiv.

The GRAPIN FPGA Cloud is especially convincing with its intuitive and appealing dashboard. The administration of the services running on it is therefore an easy game!

smart.

Together with Mirantis, GRAPIN integrates the FPGA cloud platform as a native OpenStack resource using cyborg. In this way, FPGA are deployed in a fast and secure way.

modern.

The GRAPIN FPGA cloud not only convinces with its intuitive usability and numerous features, but also with its attractive and modern design!

FPGA REVOLUTION!

The Future of High Performance Computing - Today!

The demands on computer performance are constantly increasing and digitization is advancing unstoppably. In order to meet the increasing needs, GRAPIN is developing the next generation of FPGA servers together with IBM. 

Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGA) are capable of parallel operations and have a higher scalability than Central Processing Units (CPU) or Graphical Process Units (GPU). 

The potential field of application for our revolutionary FPGA technology is very broad, with particular application in the areas of Artificial Intelligence, DNA Sequencing, Machine Learning, Internet of Things, Robotics and Big Data. 

TECHNICAL INNOVATIONS

Hyperscale Infrastructure

3 cups

Flour

Heterogeneuous Computing Clusters Stand-alone network-attached FPGA

Accelerator Service

Management of cloud FPGA at scale

2 tbsp.

Salt

1½ cups

Butter

Heterogenes Computing Cluster

The concept of stand-alone network-atteched FPGA is based on two pillars.

First, FPGA are no longer attached to a CPU via PCIe attachment as in the past but via a network attachment.

Second, FPGAs are promoted to the rank of remote peer processors by disaggregating them from the servers and making them available as independent and self-managed resources in the cloud. The network attachment frees the FPGA from the traditional CPU FPGA attachment by connecting the FPGA directly to the data center network. This makes the number of distributed FPGA independent of the number of servers.

Hyperscale Infrastructure

The cloud FPGA infrastructure is the most important prerequisite for such a large-scale deployment of FPGA in data centers. It was designed from the ground up to provide the world's densest and most energy-efficient rack unit of FPGAs.

Due to the completely new design, 64 FPGA fit into a 19" x 2 HE chassis, which has direct water cooling. Altogether 16 of such chassis and thus 1024 FPGA fit into a 42 U rack, which thus has 16 TB DRAM. Due to the unique FPGA design, the GRAPIN FPGA Cloud can save up to 80% of physical data center space compared to conventional cloud solutions.

Accelerator Service

The traditional way to integrate an FPGA into a server is to connect it to the CPU via a point-to-point high speed connection and to treat this FPGA resource as a co-processor under the control of the server CPU.

However, due to this master-slave programming paradigm, such an FPGA is typically integrated into the cloud only as an option of the primary host computing resource to which it belongs. As a result, bus-bound FPGAs are typically made available indirectly through virtual machines (VMs) or containers in the cloud.

In our approach, on the contrary, a stand-alone, network-connected FPGA can be requested independently from a host via an FPGA Cloud Resource Manager. This provides an API for integration into the management stack of the data center (e.g. OpenStack).

extremely fast.

The integration of the latest technology into our holistically reworked FPGA design results in the incredible performance of our FPGA solution. In this way, the increasing performance requirements are taken into account.

extremely efficient.

The increased energy efficiency results from the more compact design, less materials used and the elimination of the need for a cooling machine, which consumes up to four times less energy than conventional FPGA solutions. This saves not only natural resources but also the financial resources of our customers.

extremely scalable.

Thanks to an innovative network connection, our revolutionary FPGA solution is unlimited scalable. This also saves valuable resources and enables a more efficient working method!

GRAPIN FPGA

CLOUD 

THE FUTURE OF HIGH PERFORMANCE COMPUTING - TODAY!

Revolutionäre FPGA-Technologie, verfügbar über die GRAPIN FPGA Cloud.

AUSGANGSLAGE

Die heutigen High Performance Computer bzw. FPGA-Lösungen sind für allgemeine Cloud-Nutzer, welcher ihre eigenen Arbeitsprozesse beschleunigen wollen, zu wenig skalierbar. Durch die Beschleunigung der existierenden FPGA-Technologie, die erhöhte Skalierbarkeit sowie Effizienz zielen wir darauf ab, High Performance Computing einer breiteren Masse zugänglich zu machen. 

Mit der GRAPIN FPGA Cloud erleichtern wir die Verfügbarkeit unserer revolutionären High Performance Computing-Lösung, indem wir unsere weiterentwickelten FPGA als Dienstleistung (FPGA as a Service, FPGAaaS) anbieten. Unsere einzigartige FPGAaaS-Lösung setzt neue Massstäbe in puncto Leistung, Effizienz sowie Skalierbarkeit und wird den High Perfomance Computing-Markt revolutionieren!

GRAPIN FPGA CLOUD

ACCELERATING YOUR WORKLOADS IN THE CLOUD!

GRAPIN FPGA CLOUD

Ihre smarte und zuverlässige FPGA-Cloud-Lösung in der Schweiz!

intuitiv.

Die GRAPIN FPGA Cloud weiss insbesondere durch ihr intuitives und ansprechendes Dashboard zu überzeugen. Die Verwaltung der darauf laufenden Services ist somit ein leichtes Spiel!

smart.

Zusammen mit Mirantis integriert GRAPIN die FPGA-Cloud-Plattform als native OpenStack-Ressource unter Verwendung von Cyborg. Auf diese Weise werden FPGA auf schnelle und sichere Weise bereitgestellt.

modern.

Die GRAPIN FPGA Cloud überzeugt nicht nur durch ihre intuitive Bedienbarkeit sowie die zahlreichen Features, sondern auch über ihr ansprechendes und modernes Design!

FPGA REVOLUTION!

The Future of High Performance Computing - Today!

Die Anforderungen an die Computerleistung steigen kontinuierlich und die Digitalisierung schreitet unaufhaltbar voran. Um den steigenden Bedürfnissen nachzukommen, entwickelt GRAPIN zusammen mit IBM die nächste Generation von FPGA-Server. 

Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGA) sind fähig, parallele Tätigkeiten auszuführen und weisen eine höhere Skalierbarkeit als Central Processing Units (CPU) oder Graphical Process Units (GPU) auf. 

Das potentielle Anwendungsgebiet unserer revolutionären FPGA-Technologie ist sehr breit, wobei sie insbesondere in den Bereichen Artificial Intelligence, DNA Sequencing, Machine Learning, Internet of Things, Robotics sowie Big Data zur Anwendung gelangen kann. 

TECHNISCHE NEUHEITEN

Heterogene Computing Cluster

Das Konzept von stand-alone network-atteched FPGA basiert auf zwei Säulen.

 

Erstens werden FPGA nicht mehr wie herkömmlich mittels PCIe-Anbindung sondern neu durch eine Netzwerkanbindung an eine CPU angeschlossen.

 

Zweitens werden FPGA in den Rang von Remote-Peer-Prozessoren gefördert, indem sie von den Servern disaggregiert und als unabhängige und selbstverwaltete Ressourcen in der Cloud bereitgestellt werden. Der Netzwerkanschluss befreit die FPGA vom traditionellen CPU-FPGA-Anschluss, indem die FPGA direkt an das Data Center-Netzwerk angeschlossen wird. Dadurch wird die Anzahl der verteilten FPGA unabhängig von der Anzahl der Server.

Hyperscale Infrastruktur

Die Cloud-FPGA-Infrastruktur ist die wichtigste Voraussetzung für einen solch gross angelegten Einsatz von FPGA in Data Center. Sie wurde von Grund auf so konzipiert, dass sie die weltweit dichteste und energieeffizienteste Rack-Einheit von FPGAs bietet.

Aufgrund des gesamtheitlich neuen Designs passen 64 FPGA in ein 19" x 2 HE Chassis, welches über  eine direkte Wasserkühlung verfügt. Insgesamt passen 16 solcher Chassis und somit 1024 FPGA in ein 42 HE-Rack, welche dadurch über 16 TB DRAM verfügen. Durch das einzigartige FPGA-Design kann mit der GRAPIN FPGA Cloud im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Cloud-Lösungen bis zu 80% an physischer Data Center-Fläche eingespart werden.

Beschleunigung von Services

Die herkömmliche Art, ein FPGA in einen Server zu integrieren, besteht darin, diesen mittels Punkt-zu-Punkt-Hochgeschwindigkeitsverbindung mit der CPU zu verbinden und diese FPGA-Ressource als Co-Prozessor unter der Kontrolle der Server-CPU zu behandeln.

Aufgrund dieses Master-Slave-Programmierparadigmas wird ein solcher FPGA jedoch in der Regel nur als Option der primären Host-Computerressource, zu der er gehört, in die Cloud integriert. Infolgedessen werden Bus-gebundene FPGA in der Regel indirekt über virtuelle Maschinen (VMs) oder Container in der Cloud zur Verfügung gestellt.

In unserem Ansatz hingegen kann ein eigenständiges, netzwerkangebundenes FPGA unabhängig von einem Host über einen FPGA Cloud Resource Manager  angefordert werden. Dieser bietet eine API  zur Integration in den Management-Stack des Data Center (z.B. OpenStack).

extrem schnell.

Die Integration von neuster Technologie in unser ganzheitlich überarbeitetes FPGA-Design resultiert in einer unglaublichen Leistungsfähigkeit unserer FPGA-Lösung. Auf diese Weise wird den steigenden Leistungsanforderungen in Sache Performance Rechnung getragen.

extrem effizient.

Die gesteigerte Energie-Effizienz resultiert aus dem kompakteren Design, weniger verwendeten Materialien sowie der entfallenen Notwendigkeit einer Kühlmaschine, wodurch im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen FPGA-Lösungen bis zur vier mal weniger Energie verbraucht wird. Hierdurch werden nicht nur die natürlichen, sondern auch die finanziellen Ressourcen unserer Kunden geschont.

extrem skalierbar.

Dank einem innovativen Netzwerkanschluss ist unsere revolutionäre FPGA-Lösung unlimitiert skalierbar. Hierdurch werden ebenfalls wertvolle Ressourcen geschont und eine effizientere Arbeitsweise ermöglicht!

GRAPIN AG

Bahnhofplatz 1A

CH-8304 Wallisellen

© 2020 GRAPIN. All rights reserved.